Cover of: The Life of Arthur Ransome | Hugh Brogan Read Online

The Life of Arthur Ransome

  • 914 Want to read
  • ·
  • 28 Currently reading

Published by Pimlico .
Written in English


  • Nonfiction - General,
  • Non-Classifiable

Book details:

The Physical Object
Number of Pages456
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL7794183M
ISBN 100712652493
ISBN 109780712652490

Download The Life of Arthur Ransome


Arthur Ransome is nowadays best remembered as the author of the "Swallows and Amazons" series of children's stories -- innocent and fun-loving tales of sailing holidays and boating adventures, generally Cited by: Arthur Ransome, in full Arthur Michell Ransome, (born Janu , Leeds, Yorkshire, England—died June 3, , Cheadle, near Manchester), English writer best known for the Swallows . Arthur Ransome has books on Goodreads with ratings. Arthur Ransome’s most popular book is Swallows and Amazons (Swallows and Amazons, #1). Arthur Ransome's mother Edith was a daughter of the artist Edward Baker Boulton, who spent much of his life sheep-farming in Australia. Arthur was the eldest child, having a brother, Geoffrey and two .

Buy The Life Of Arthur Ransome New Ed by Brogan, Hugh (ISBN: ) from Amazon's Book Store. Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders.5/5(7). With full access to the Ransome papers, as well as to much material that has only recently come to light, this book looks at the story of Arthur Ransome's life. In particular the book looks at Ransome's . For a man who longed for a quiet existence, Arthur Ransome led a remarkably adventurous life. His two marriages - first to an unstable fantasist and later to a formidable Russian who had been Trotsky's . Swallows and Amazons Series Collection Series 4 Books (Winter Holiday, Peter Duck, Swallowdale, Swallows and Amazons).

The fourth book in Arthur Ransome's classic series for children, Winter Holiday takes intrepid explorers John, Susan, Titty, and Roger Walker, and fearsome Amazon pirates Nancy and Peggy Blackett to .   "Any book worth reading by children,” wrote Arthur Ransome in his autobiography, “is also worth reading by grown-up persons.” As one of the millions who loved the Swallows and 3/5. The Swallows and Amazons series is a series of twelve children's books by English author Arthur Ransome, named after the title of the first book in the twelve books are set in the Interwar . The Child's Book of the Seasons. Arthur Ransome. Out of Stock. The Soldier and Death: A Russian Folk Tale Told in English. Arthur Ransome $ - $ Fishing. Arthur Ransome The Lady Who .